Bon anniversaire!

1 Adult – 13 November 2014Eurostar, London-Paris

 

Today the Eurostar turns 20 and it just so happens that yesterday I Chunneled from London to Paris for the first time. I slept trough the actual crossing of la Manche so I can’t describe the thrill of locomoting under water, but overall I found my Eurostar voyage speedy and pleasant. There was a fancy ramp waiting to board me at St. Pancras and a slightly less fancy one waiting for me when I arrived at the Gare du Nord. The only hitch: the accessible toilet in my carriage was out of order.

Compared to the endlessly complicated maneuvers necessary to book an accessible seat on an SNCF train, the Eurostar website was easy to navigate and booking an accessible seat only required a few extra steps. As a bonus, wheelchair users are given the same price for both regular and business class tickets. A business ticket allows access to the business lounge on the St. Pancras end of the route and complimentary food and beverage service aboard the train.

 

Fancy ramp, St. Pancras – 13 November 2014Ramp St. Pancras