Two things I like

by tiresomemoi

chimneys and shadows

Yesterday, while stopping by my local office supply/photo shop, the woman beside me at the print station sat in front  of a lovely image of a an orange cat traversing a dilapidated interior. The colors were bright – oranges, greens, and yellows – and the image was elegant and strange. I told her how much I liked the composition, she then showed me a series of very dull though vaguely pretty pictures. I told her that I liked the first one the best, she tried to convince me of the merits of some of the others.

I like shadows and chimneys (flowers and bodies of water too) but their niceness gives me pause. In eighth grade, my best friend and I decided that nice was the basest of insults.

I doth protest too much.

 

Two chimneys, Bath, Maine (first) – 30 August 2014Two chimneys, Bath (first)

 

Two chimneys, Bath, Maine (later) – 30 August 2014Two chimneys, Bath (later)

 

 

