Els Galets de Nadal or Fun with pasta

by tiresomemoi

According to my friend, Pep, galets de Nadal are to Christmas in Catalonia* what Santa is to Christmas in the U.S. of A.   So instead of reindeer and glittering trees Barcelona’s streets are decorated with two-meter high pasta shells. What’s not to love?

Here is my ode in pictures to the humble pasta shell:

 

Three pasta shellsGalet 2

 

Girl and shellGalet 3

 

Two linked shellsGalet 5

 

Three shells and a treeGalet 1

 

Two shells, a van, and a treeGalet 4

 

Tomorrow, I’m going to be on the lookout for my very own package of galets de Nadal though I don’t expect to be eating mine the traditional way. If I find the Catalan treats I will, most likely, stuff them with meatballs and smother them in tomato sauce.

For a recipe* for escudella i carn d’olla (the traditional Catalan soup containing the afore mentioned galets) click here.  The author describes this soup as having “memorable flavors that are warming for soul and stomach.”

*A bit more about Christmas in Catalonia can be found here (This Curious Thing Called Catalonia).

**Ingredients include: 2 chicken feet (skinned) or 1 chicken neck, 1 chicken gizzard, 1 lamb foot and ankle, as well as carrots, potatoes, and Swiss chard.

