Free samples

by tiresomemoi

The sky at noon, 10 June 2013The sky at noon

This morning I passed a woman handing out mini boxes of chocolate dipped Special K*. I like Special K but chocolate dipped seems wrong and decidedly unappealing.

Last week, I saw another  woman (in another part of town) passing out Oreos (I picked up a two pack for a friend). Stumbling across these two stateside staples got me thinking about which American culinary delicacies I’d like to see passed out on Parisian sidewalks.  I’d start with bbqed ribs (the North Carolina vinegar kind), potato salad, corn on the cob, buttermilk biscuits, cinnamon rolls, sticky buns, and maybe even corndogs. Clearly this crazy weather has me in the mood for comfort food. I’m sure I’d offer up something completely different tomorrow and something else again the day after but never would I choose chocolate dipped Special K, though if you gave me enough time I might eventually get around to Oreos.

Red geraniums bd Raspail, 10 June 2013Behind glass

On the topic of culinary delicacies, I saw lamb and calf brains (giant slabs of liver too) at my local market on Friday. I’m pathetically unadventurous when it comes to terrestrial meat products but I loved looking at them. They’re so perfect.

Lamb brainsLamb brains

Calf brains and liver**Calf brains

*The tagline reads: Crunch for more pleasure.

** You can’t have a picture without a recipe now can you?

Scrambled Eggs with Calf’s Brains

Follow recipe for Scrambled Eggs with Sweetbreads, using calf’s brains in place of sweetbreads.

To Prepare Calf’s Brains. Soak one hour in cold water to cover. Remove membrane, and parboil twenty minutes in boiling, salted, acidulated water. Drain, put in cold water; as soon as cold, drain again, and separate in small pieces.

Scrambled Eggs with Sweetbreads

4 eggs

1 sweetbread, parboiled and cut in dice

1/2 cup milk

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/8 teaspoon pepper

2 tablespoons butter

Beat eggs slightly, using a silver folk, add salt, pepper, milk, and sweetbread. Put butter in hot chafing-dish; when melted, pour in the mixture. Cook until of creamy consistency, constantly stirring and scraping from bottom of the pan.

Farmer, Fannie Merritt. The Boston Cooking-School Cook Book. Boston: Little, Brown, 1918

Recipes courtesy of bartleby.com

American styleAmerican sandwich

